This year’s omer challenge…

SURPRISE! I’ve decided to dust off the old Omer blog. I don’t remember if I completed counting the Omer through until the end last year (I usually make it until the end or have the anti-climactic OH NO! I forgot 48!), but the blog was surprisingly more difficult because it was my first time trying a daily blog. Let’s see how this year works out…

I said at my second Seder this year that I am excited to count the Omer because it reminds me to count my blessings every day. The Omer reminds us to “count up”, to look at how full our glasses are, and at how far we have come. This year’s omer challenge: find/recognize blessings in every day, and relate them to the Omer themes.

Speaking of which, each of the seven weeks of the Omer is said to have a theme, which I found here.

חסד or Chesed ― Loving-kindness
גבורה or Gevurah ― Justice, discipline, strength
תפארת or Tiferet ― Harmony, compassion, beauty, spirituality
נצח‎ or Netzach ― Endurance, eternity
הוד Hod ― Humility, majesty, glory
יסוד or Yesod ― Bonding, connection
מלכות or Malchut ― Sovereignty, leadership

Each of the seven days of the week goes in the order above as well. (If this part looks familiar, it’s because I stole it from my Day 1 post last year)

Enjoy, or not- I do this for me anyway 🙂

Day 1: Chesed in Chesed, Loving-kindness in Loving-kindness
I was lucky to be surrounded by many of my family members on the first night of Passover. (I know an easy blessing to recognize, right?) The day one blessing that I’d like to mention is that I’m lucky to see my family as often as I do. I know I’m lucky in a lot of other ways. In honor of day one (double whammy day of lovingkindness), I’d like to make some extra people smile (starting with the definitely not embarrassing pictures below), do something good for someone else, and put a little extra good in the world. More people doing more good things can never hurt 🙂
Blessing: Family

Day 2: Gevurah in Chesed, Strength in Loving-Kindness
A friend of mine is doing an inspiring, strong, beautiful act of loving-kindness. She raised $15,000 and is running a marathon for the Brookline Community Mental Health Center. (Shameless plug, Check her out.) During our Passover Seders, we invite “all who are hungry to come and eat…” with an empathy and an openness that is central to to the strength, fortitude, and lovingkindness we have as a People. How many times have we said or heard, “There will definitely be enough food, enough space, don’t worry, come join us.” We have enough room at our tables, and we can have enough room in our hearts to help our neighbors, the millions of Americans who struggle each year with mental illness. Not every illness is visible, but we all have the ability to reach out. You never know the impact you are making.
Blessing: Support

seder

“Let all who are hungry come and eat…”

Day 3: Tiferet in Chesed, Harmony in Loving-kindess
This is all I could think of. I don’t even apologize a little bit. We are all thankful for the riff off.
All of the harmonies.
Blessing: Joy
riff

Leave a Reply

